Why are you offering the class for free?
- Because I want to. Pure and simple. I’m more passionate about teaching and allowing others to have the option to carry a concealed firearm if they chose than I am about making money.
What’s the fine print?
- The cost of the class is free. However, there are some expenses to get your permit:
- Fingerprint and photo services will be offered in class for $20 cash. The in-class services are optional but is required to be included when applying for your permit. To save you time and money, I strongly encourage you to take advantage of these services but are not required to do so in class.
- Application Fee – $37 if you’re a Utah resident or $47 for non-residents. Payable to Utah BCI by credit card, check, money order, or cashier’s check. You’ll have up to 1 year from the date of class to mail your application.
- Fingerprint Card – This can be obtained by your local law enforcement office for a nominal fee.
- Passport Quality Photo – You can take this at home, post office, or Walgreens as long as it meets the description of “passport quality”.
- Photo ID – You will be required to submit a copy of your driver’s license, passport, or other government issued identification.
Do I need to be a Utah resident to get a permit?
- No. However, there have been changes in Utah law for out-of-state residents. An out-of-state resident must first obtain a home-state concealed firearm/weapon permit before they are eligible for a Utah permit. The exception to this rule is if your home state is not a “shall issue” state and/or doesn’t recognize Utah’s concealed firearm permit. Ask me about your home state or see the list of states below. The state of Utah also charges a $47 application fee for non-residents instead of $37 for residents.
Why should I come to your class instead of another instructor?
- This course is not for those who simply want me to rubber stamp their application. I encourage those that don’t take firearm safety and education seriously to go elsewhere. I am here to teach as well as learn from my students. My mindset is that we are all students and can all learn something. The cost of the class is as cheap as you’ll get it…free. Just because it’s free doesn’t mean you won’t receive a quality education.
How long do I have to mail in my CFP/CCW application?
- You have up to 1 year from the date of the class to mail your application along with the fingerprint cards, passport quality photo, and a copy of your driver’s license. You may take the class at age 20 and wait to mail your application when you turn 21. The application payment does not need to be paid until the application is mailed.
How early do I need to sign up?
- The sooner the better to reserve your spot. Class is almost guaranteed to fill up since it’s free. Seating is limited on a first-come first-served basis. A waiting list will be created if class is full.
How do I pay the application fee and what types of payment are accepted?
- You may pay the required $37 (resident) or $47 (non-resident) to “Utah BCI” by credit card (Visa and MasterCard), check, cashier’s check, or money order. The state prefers money orders and typically results in you receiving your permit a little quicker. Just include the payment when you mail your application.
How long is the class?
- This class is not a rubber stamp class. Classes typically run between 5 to 6 hours depending on the number of students and questions. Come prepared to attend the whole class. Attending the whole class is a requirement to obtain your concealed firearm permit.
What do I need to bring to class?
- Nothing other than a course outline that will be emailed to you about a week before class. Everything else will be provided to you in class.
Do I need to have experience or other trainings first?
- No. This class is taught at a level that beginners and those with more experience can enjoy. I do not, and will not, treat anyone with disrespect because of how inexperienced they might be. Come to class ready to ask questions with an open mind to learn; your questions and comments will be handled respectfully.
What if I can’t attend a class I signed up for?
- Just let me know. I’m easy to work with and understand that unexpected things come up and will take you off the roster. Letting me know will allow a person on the waiting list to register.
Do I qualify for a permit?
- If you are legally able to own or possess a firearm, you likely qualify for a concealed firearm permit (CFP/CCW). The state and federal standards are listed below:
- Be at least 21 years of age (you can take the class while 20 years of age but won’t get your permit until you’re 21)
- You have not been convicted of a felony
- You have not been convicted of domestic violence
- You have not been convicted of a crime of violence
- You have not been convicted of an offense involving alcohol
- You have not been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude
- You have not been convicted of any crime involving narcotics or controlled substances
- You have not been declared mentally incompetent by state or federal court
- You do not have a history of being a danger to yourself or others
- You do not have a pattern of past behavior involving threats of violence
Please contact me if you have ANY question about your qualification for a concealed firearm permit. There are expiration’s on many of the background check disqualifications and your situation should be individually evaluated to determine eligibility.
Do you teach outside of Utah?
- I can teach out-of-state classes although rarely do. Please contact me for more information.
What states have reciprocity or recognize the Utah permit?
- Utah has formal reciprocity with the following states:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- Washington State
- West Virginia
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
Utah’s permit is recognized by the following states:
The following states DO NOT recognize Utah’s permit:
There are nuances with each state. Some do not recognize non-resident permits (Colorado, Michigan, Florida, and New Hampshire). Other states have “constitutional carry” (Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho (residents only), Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming (residents only)). Some states allow “constitutional carry” to some degree (Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, and Oklahoma). Go here for further information.
Map by Jeff Dege